Thursday, December 14, 2006
Why I hate the word potty.
In a few short weeks my husband and I are going to welcome our first child into this world. We are doing our best to prepare for this event but as it is often said... "there is no way to prepare for such a life changing thing." That being said, advice from others has not been in short supply. Others ways of preparing you for the unpreparable I guess. Raising a child is so specialized to the couple as they each bring their own ideas, cultures, and nurturing to the table. One thing I know that will never happen in my house though (all you seasoned parents can gasp) is the use of the word "potty." I hate it. That is putting it lightly, I despise it. I think adults rarely give children the credit they are due. Children are intelligent growing beings and don't deserve the disservice done by talking down to them. I no way intend to be vulgar in my home, but what is so wrong with saying "do you have to use the bathroom?" Teaching children from the start the appropriate name can go a long way. Imagine telling your 7 year old that he/she can't use the word "potty" anymore because he/she is too old now. Why re-teach? Not to mention how incredibly stupid and ignorant it sounds cooing out of the mouths of mothers across the nation. As my first blog this is much more of a rant nonetheless it seems of great importance to me to express my great disdain for the babytalk that is the word "potty." Seriously people let's get over it. I know I have.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment